The 2019 Precedent Setter Awards

Meet six outstanding lawyers who, in their first 10 years of practice, have produced sterling legal work and made significant contributions to the community
Precedent Setter Awards

It’s been a decade since we first launched the Precedent Setter Awards. Our central aim at the time was to celebrate the unsung heroes of the profession. The up-and-comers who never seemed to get their moment in the spotlight. So we asked our readers to come forward with junior lawyers who, in their first 10 years of practice, had emerged as leaders in both the law and in their communities.

Nomination packages flooded our inbox. We were delighted, but not surprised. This industry teems with talent. Over the past 10 years, we’ve never had trouble finding legal upstarts who’ve mastered their area of practice and who use their power to improve the very fabric of our society. And this year’s winners are no exception. Once you meet them, on the next page, we think you’ll agree: they round out one hell of a decade.

The Winners

Erin Simpson

Erin Simpson
Principal, The Law Office of Erin Simpson
Read Erin’s Profile

Megan Savard

Megan Savard
Partner, Addario Law Group LLP
Read Megan’s Profile

Jenn Quito

Jen Quito
Counsel, Law Society of Ontario
Read Jen’s Profile









Michael Fenrick

Michael Fenrick
Partner, Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP
Read Michael’s Profile

Shane Martinez

Shane Martinez
Barrister and Solicitor, Martinez Law
Read Shane’s Profile

Molly Reynolds

Molly Reynolds
Counsel, Torys LLP
Read Mollys Profile








The Judges

Suhuyini Abudulai, Partner, Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP

Fernando Garcia, General counsel, Cargojet

Nikiforos Iatrou, Partner, McCarthy Tétrault LLP

Camille Labchuk, Executive director, Animal Justice

This story is from our Summer 2019 Issue.

Photography by Luis Mora, hair and makeup by Michelle Calleja.