The 2021 Precedent Setter Awards

Image of a curtain with the words "curtain call"
Meet six emerging lawyers who have mastered their fields and spearheaded meaningful change in the community

By Precedent

On Tuesday May 25th, 2021


The best lawyers triumph on two stages. In their practices, they produce legal work at the highest level. The top litigators win paradigm-shifting cases in court, while the leading solicitors help clients solve the thorniest problems behind the scenes. But these lawyers also drive change in the community. You’ll find them advancing diversity and standing up for the rights of the vulnerable.

The winners of this year’s Precedent Setter Awards have devoted their careers to that dual purpose. All in their first 10 years of practice, they shine in the legal arena and, at the same time, work to strengthen the social fabric.

The Winners

Portrait of Dina Awad

Dina Awad
Partner, Dentons Canada LLP
Read Dina’s Profile

Portrait of Stephen Aylward

Stephen Aylward
Associate, Stockwoods LLP
Read Stephen’s Profile

Portrait of Caitlyn Kasper

Caitlyn Kasper
Senior staff lawyer, Aboriginal Legal Services
Read Caitlyn’s Profile









Portrait of Aaron Baer

Aaron Baer
Partner, Aird & Berlis LLP
Read Aaron’s Profile

Portrait of Pam Hrick

Pam Hrick
Executive director and general counsel, LEAF
Read Pam’s Profile

Portrait of Cindy Kou

Cindy Kou
Associate, Gowling WLG
Read Cindy’s Profile








The Judges

Ranjan Agarwal, Partner, Bennett Jones LLP

Carole Dagher, Vice-president, legal, Loblaw Companies Limited

Lisa Feldstein, Principal, Lisa Feldstein Law Office

Lindsay Scott, Partner, Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP

This story is from our Summer 2021 Issue.

Photography by Saty + Pratha; set design by Kristen Lim Tung; hair & makeup by Caroline Levin / P1M.