Precedent Setter Awards 2016 // The Circuit

Precedent Setter Awards 2016 Group Photo
Photos from the 2016 Precedent Setter Awards celebration

By Precedent

On Friday June 24th, 2016


What: Precedent Setter Awards 2016
Where: The Spoke Club, 600 King St. W.
When: June 20, 2016

It’s always one of Precedent’s proudest moments — our annual event to celebrate the winners of the Precedent Setter Awards.

And last week, more than 120 lawyers and guests gathered came out to the Spoke Club in downtown Toronto to honour this year’s winners. It’s the sole chance for the legal community in Toronto to congratulate and mingle with all six winners, who, in their first 10 years of practice, are remaking the profession for the better.

“Each year, we receive so many nominations for this award,” said Precedent’s publisher and editor Melissa Kluger. “And from those nominations, we look for lawyers who’ve done outstanding legal work and been active members of their community.”

This year’s winners definitely delivered: they all boast wicked-smart legal minds that have thrust their careers into overdrive.

Congratulations again to all our winners:

Lawyer Tanya Walker of Walker Law Professional Corporation

Tanya Walker
Founder, Walker Law Professional Corporation
Read Tanya’s profile

Lawyer Solomon Friedman of Edelson Clifford D'Angelo Friedman Barristers LLP

Solomon Friedman
Partner, Edelson Clifford D’Angelo Friedman Barristers LLP
Read Solomon’s profile

Lawyer Peter Aprile of Counter Tax Law

Peter Aprile
Founder, Counter Tax Lawyers
Read Peter’s profile









Lawyer Jacqueline Swaisland of Lorne Waldman Professional Corporation

Jacqueline Swaisland
Associate, Lorne Waldman Professional Corporation
Read Jacqueline’s profile

Lawyer Suhuyini Abudalai of Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP

Suhuyini Abudulai Associate, Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP
Read Suhuyini’s profile

Lawyer Sunil Gurmukh of the Ontario Human Rights Commission

Sunil Gurmukh
Counsel, Ontario Human Rights Commission
Read Sunil’s profile









We’d like to extend a big thank-you to our presenting sponsor RainMaker Group and our event sponsors Clear Concept, Deloitte and Laurel Hill Advisory Group.

Event photography by Yvonne Bambrick

Winners’ portraits by Ian Patterson