Outstanding women recognized

Three of seven 2013 YWCA Women of Distinction award winners work in prestigious law jobs

By Bruce Laregina

On Thursday May 2nd, 2013


The first female dean of the faculty of law at U of T will be recognized tonight as a 2013 YWCA Toronto Woman of Distinction for her work in promoting women’s equality.

Mayo Moran, who became dean in 2006 and was interviewed by Matt Galloway this morning, wins the award alongside Amanda Dale, the executive director of the Barbra Schlifer Clinicand Gloria Epstein, a judge for the Ontario Court of Appeal. 

The event, held tonight at Constitution Hall in Toronto, will feature cocktails, special celebrity chefs and an after partyfor networking. 

Other award winners include physician Ophira Ginsburg, retired detective sergeant Denise LaBarge, philanthropist Cheryl Stoneburgh, and Young Woman of Distinction Esther Linares.

The winners were chosen based on their commitment to improving the lives of women or girls by a panel consisting of past Women of Distinction, members of YWCA Toronto and other community reps. 

The award has been offered for 31 years.

For more on the winners, check out their profiles here.