The Precedent Setter Awards 2015

Every year, Precedent seeks out and celebrates the most outstanding lawyers in their first 10 years of practice who are excelling in their careers and contributing to our community with their ideas, work and achievements.

From a record number of nominations, six winners have risen to the top — six hardworking, trailblazing, communityminded lawyers who, in their first 10 years of practice, are already proving themselves to be the next leaders of the profession.

With all that trailblazing and hard work, we thought our winners deserved to have a little fun. So, for their victory photoshoot, we took them to play a few rounds at Toronto ping-pong bar Spin. Turns out, they are not only winners, but good sports as well.

May we proudly present the lawyers to watch in 2015.

The Winners

Aida Shahbazi

Aida Shahbazi
Senior Counsel, BMO Financial Group
Read Aida’s profile

Patric Senson

Patric Senson
Associate, Phillips Gill LLP
Read Patric’s profile

Omo Akintan

Omo Akintan
Counsel, City of Toronto
Read Omo’s profile








Paul Jonathan Saguil

Paul Jonathan Saguil
Counsel, TD Bank Financial Group
Read Paul’s profile

Jason Woycheshyn

Jason Woycheshyn
Partner, Bennett Jones LLP
Read Jason’s profile

Lisa Feldstein

Lisa Feldstein
Founder, Lisa Feldstein Law Office
Read Lisa’s profile








The Judges

Afshan Ali, Senior Counsel, CIBC

David Bronskill, Partner, Goodmans LLP

Shantona Chaudhury, Associate, Pape Barristers

Ryan Edmonds, Owner, Ryan Edmonds Workplace Counsel

Web bonus

Check out our behind-the-scenes photos from our photo shoot with the winners!

Party photos

On June 9, lawyers and guests gathered to celebrate this year’s winners. Check out our party photos.

Photography by Jaime Hogge, Hair and makeup by Shawna Lee, Shot on location at Spin Toronto

2014 Precedent Setters Wanted

Precedent Magazine needs your help finding young lawyers whose remarkable achievements deserve recognition. If you know an outstanding lawyer in his or her first ten years of practice, nominate them for the 2014 Precedent Setter Awards. 

The awards honour exceptional Ontario lawyers who were called to the bar between 2004 and 2013 (inclusive) who have demonstrated leadership and excellence in their work and in their community. Nominate a colleague, co-worker or friend whose unprecedented work makes them a great candidate.

But do it soon! The nomination deadline is 5 p.m. on Thursday, January 30, 2014.

>> Click here for details on how to submit a nomination

Check out last year’s extraordinary winners below.


Carole Dagher
read profile >>


Rahool Agarwal
read profile >>


Sara Cohen
read profile >>


Shantona Chaudhury
read profile >>


Jackie Taitz
read profile >>