Toronto Lawyers Association Awards of Distinction // The Circuit

Two honoured for their contributions to the legal community and beyond

By Yvonne Bambrick

On Monday March 4th, 2013


What:  13th Annual Toronto Lawyers Association Awards of Distinction 
  Grand Banking Hall, One King St. West
When: February 26, 2013 

Formerly a well-appointed bank, the beautiful Grand Banking Hall was an ideal setting for the 13th Annual Toronto Lawyers Association (TLA) Awards of Distinction. The early storm winds did not stop many long-serving members of Toronto’s legal community from coming together to honour this year’s award recipients. Following a cocktail reception and the usual networking, guests turned their attention to the awards ceremony that highlighted the accomplishments of J. Timothy Kennish and The Honourable Justice Edward Ormston.

Tim Kennish was awarded for playing an important role in the development of Canadian competition law. He has been a leader in the Toronto legal community, embodying high standards in the legal profession.

Justice Ormston was also an award recipient due to his leadership in mental health and law. He assisted in the creation of Canada’s first mental health court and continues to work as chair of the Consent and Capacity Board of Ontario.

“We are pleased to host this yearly event, as we believe it demonstrates that the TLA offers more than the important pillars of information, education and advocacy. In celebrating and promoting the richly diverse Toronto legal community, this year’s Awards of Distinction honourees were selected not only for their achievements within their legal fields, but for their contributions to the legal community and to the wider community,” said newly appointed TLA President, Miriam Young.

Yvonne Bambrick is an Urban Cycling Consultant, Coordinator of the Forest Hill Village BIA, and a Toronto-based Event & Portrait Photographer. Invite us to your party!